The Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy, today announced the Panel of Experts to assess proposals to build the National Broadband Network.

The Panel will be chaired by the Secretary of the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Ms Patricia Scott. The other members of the panel are:
  • John Wylie, Lazard Carnegie Wylie CEO.
  • Tony Mitchell, Allphones Chairman.
  • Laureate Professor Rod Tucker, University of Melbourne.
  • Professor Emeritus of Communications, Reg Coutts, University of Adelaide.
  • Tony Shaw, former Australian Communications Authority Chairman.
  • Dr Ken Henry AC, Treasury Secretary.
“The Panel will bring a fine blend of technical, regulatory, business, investment and policy skills and experience to the process,” Senator Conroy said.

“The Government will formally call for innovative and competitive proposals to roll-out the new network with a view to having construction underway by the end of 2008.”

The full article can be read here:


Post a Comment